National Election Results 2016

Sigma Delta Pi is pleased to confirm the election of the following national officers for the 2016-19 triennium:

National President: Lucy F. Lee, Truman State University

V.P., Northeast: Marie-Lise Gazarian, St. John’s University

V.P., Southeast: Nancy Kason Poulson, Florida Atlantic University

V.P., Midwest: Jennifer Cooley, University of Northern Iowa

 V.P., Southwest: Comfort Pratt, Texas Tech University

V.P., West: Isabel Asensio, Weber State University

The 2016-19 term of office will begin effective at the conclusion of Sigma Delta Pi’s National Triennial Convention to be held July 2016 in Miami, FL and in conjunction with the annual meeting of the AATSP.

Each active chapter is invited to send a delegate to Sigma Delta Pi’s 2016 Triennial Convention, and you can plan now by registering for the AATSP conference at


Sigma Delta Pi Loses a Member of the Orden de Don Quijote

Sigma Delta Pi mourns the loss of Dr. Maria Dominicis, a distinguished Hispanist who left this earth on February 8, 2016.

Dr. Dominicis was inducted into Sigma Delta Pi’s prestigious Orden de Don Quijote on April 18, 2000, and she was a former Chair of the Department of Languages and Literature at St. John’s University, as well as the Director of the Language Lab. The author of many textbooks, adopted by countless universities, including St. John’s, Professor Dominicis was beloved by her students for her knowledge and her wit.

The viewing will take place on Wednesday, February 9th, from  2-5:00pm and 7-9:00pm at Frederick Funeral Home, 192-15 Northern Boulevard, Flushing, NY (718) 357-6100.

A Funeral Mass will be offered at St. Nicholas of Tolentine, 150-75 Goethals Avenue, Jamaica, NY, (718) 969-3226, at 10:30am on Thursday, February 10. The mass will be followed by the burial at Mount Saint Mary Cemetery, Booth Memorial Booth Avenue, Flushing, NY.

Dr. Maria Dominicis is survived by her son Victor Dominicis and her sister Lupe Cantelli and family.

Texas Tech University: Recipient of 2016 Frida Kahlo Award

Texas Tech University’s Alpha Phi Chapter of Sigma Delta Pi was chosen as this year’s recipient of the Frida Kahlo Award, granted annually to a chapter for its outstanding website.  For a list of all past awardees, please visit