Inaugural Board of Student Advisers Appointed

The Executive Committee (EC) of the National Collegiate Hispanic Honor Society is proud to announce the appointment of its inaugural Board of Student Advisers (BSA):

Amanda Hudinsky, University of Minnesota-Morris

Monica Mancilla, University of New Mexico

Cora Spillman, Assumption College

Chase Tiffany, Southern Illinois University Edwardsville

Consuelo Torres, Austin Peay State University

Serving a 2-year term that begins on May 15, 2016, the members of Sigma Delta Pi’s BSA will offer feedback to the EC on select issues related to the National Collegiate Hispanic Honor Society.  Such consultations between the EC and the BSA may include, but are not limited to:

  • Identifying strategic initiatives to bolster membership.
  • Providing a student perspective on proposed initiatives of the Executive Committee.
  • Identifying areas of potential improvement with Sigma Delta Pi’s various programs.
  • Discussing select issues and concerns at both the national (EC) and local (chapter) levels.

Congratulations to our inaugural appointees!


Dr. Steven Hutchinson Inducted into Order of Don Quijote

On Wednesday, April 27, 2016 at the University of Wisconsin-Madison, President Emeritus Germán D. Carrillo of Marquette University inducted Dr. Steven Hutchinson into Sigma Delta Pi’s prestigious Order of Don Quijote.

DrStevenHutchinsonOrdendeDQDr. Carrillo (left) during the induction of Dr. Hutchinson (right).

Recipients of Sigma Delta Pi’s Graduate Research Grants & Undergraduate Study Abroad Awards, 2016

Congratulations to the Recipients of Sigma Delta Pi’s Graduate Research Grants and Undergraduate Study Abroad Awards for 2016! 

Graduate Research Grants
Laura Guillén Matus, Wichita State University
Alex Hyler, North Carolina State University
Francesco Masala, University of Kentucky
Anthony Pasero-O’Malley, University of Virginia

Undergraduate Study Abroad Awards
Theresa Anderson, Carson-Newman University
Renzo Broggi, Florida Atlantic University
Karishma Dayani, University of Georgia
Emily Gibson, University of Georgia
Sombiniain Herimpitiavana, Westminster College
William Jett, Idaho State University
Alexandra Marincic, University of Akron
McKenna Murray, Pepperdine University
Chloe Reed, Lakeland College
Michael Sciacca, East Carolina University
Flor Cristina Suaste Franco, Arkansas Tech University
Morgan Treviño, Texas Tech University
Katie Vaughn, West Texas A&M University
Kevin Wagner, Iowa State University
Janel Weir, Lakeland College
Jessica Yañez, Canisius College